Urmia University

English of Urmia.ac.ir

Ebrahim sepehr
of Soil Science

The Faculty of Agriculture is the oldest faculty of Urmia University. This faculty is the first institute of higher education in West Azerbaijan province, which was established in 1965 under the supervision of Karaj Agriculture Faculty, University of Tehran. Headed by Eng. Sheibani, the faculty firstly admitted 40 associate degree students in an educational premise of 15 hectares. Students could continue their studies to receive a bachelor's degree in the Faculty of Agriculture in Karaj. In 1968, with the approval of the Board of Trustees of the Faculty of Agriculture, this faculty became independent from the Faculty of Agriculture in Karaj. In 1969, an agreement was signed between the Near East Foundation and the Ministry of Culture at the time to increase the education program in the faculty from two to four years, and Dr. Jafar Rasi was appointed as the dean of the faculty. In 1969, with the creation of the field of animal husbandry, it was renamed to the Urmia Faculty of Agriculture and Animal Husbandry. Due to the fact that in 1975, the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and in 1977, the Faculty of Science and the School of Medicine and Nursing were added to it, in September 1977, it was officially upgraded to Urmia University. In the summer of 2019, with the aggregation of the Faculty of Natural Resources in the Faculty of Agriculture, this faculty was renamed the Faculty of Agriculture and Natural Resources. In May 2021, the faculty of Natural Resources became independent again.


From the past until now, Dr. Komarizadeh, Dr. Ghadimzadeh, Dr. Pourmirza, Dr. Farhoudi, Dr. Tajbakhsh, Dr. Samadi, Dr. Khosrowshahi, Dr. Fahoomand, Dr. Rezazadbari, Dr. Samadi, and Dr. Esmaiili have been the deans of the Faculty of Agriculture at Urmia University. Currently, Dr. Ebrahim Sepehr is the dean of the Faculty of Agriculture.

Faculty of Agriculture
At a Glance
Academic Disciplines:
  • B.Sc. : 9
  • M.Sc. : 34
  • Ph.D. : 18
Faculty Members:
Educational Departments:
Vice-Dean of Research
Farrokh Asadzadeh
Vice-Dean of Education & Graduate
Mortaza Molaei
Iran, Urmia, 11km Sero Road
Articulture Faculty